Friday, September 7, 2012

Shopbop Giveaway Winner!

We had 110 valid entries for the Shopbop giveaway and the comment number chosen through random.org is:

Which makes the winner Jen D! Congratulations, Jen! We'll be in touch. 

Tuesday, September 4, 2012

Dove Conditioner Review & Spafinder sweepstakes!


I received a bottle of Dove Intensive Repair Conditioner to review and was really interested to try it out. As a rule, I don't use conditioner every single day because my hair is so fine it tends to get weighed down really easily, especially when it's humid outside. The problem is, when I don't use it my hair gets pretty dry, especially on the ends. Basically, I can't win.

So, when I was asked to review Dove Intensive Repair Conditioner I thought maybe this would be the way to go - a conditioner designed to prevent split ends and protect my hair from further damage. I was cautiously optimistic, though not convinced it wouldn’t leave my hair a lank mess.


The Dove conditioner comes in a funky bottle that I naturally tried to open from the wrong end. Oops. Once I figured it out I was good to go. It was a surprisingly luxe product - much thicker and more concentrated than I was expecting and it smells really good, though a bit stronger than what I generally use. (I'm pretty sensitive to scented products.) I applied it mainly to the ends of my hair and let it sit for a minute before rinsing. It rinsed clean but left my hair feeling smooth and much more manageable than when I go without.
The real test is what happens when I blow dry, flat iron and style. You'd be surprised how much work an "easy" short haircut can be. But, I was pleasantly surprised by how nice my hair looked after I'd dried it - shiny, bouncy, not weighed down at all. Here, see for yourself:

Oooo, soft hairs.

I’m pretty pleased with the results from this and while I’m not going to be an every-day conditioner, I will definitely use this product a few times a week to keep my hair smooth and damage-free.  I’m also going to encourage my long-haired sisters to use it and see what kind of results they get. Short hair just doesn’t react the same way to products. We are special flowers, duh. Now, the sweepstakes!

Promotion prompt:

What do you look for in a conditioner?

Enter to win a $1,000 Spafinder gift certificate!

NO PURCHASE NECESSARY

COMMENTS TO THIS POST ARE NOT SWEEPSTAKES ENTRIES. PLEASE SEE BELOW FOR ENTRY METHODS FOR THIS SWEEPSTAKES.

You may receive (2) total entries by selecting from the following entry methods:

a) Follow this link, and provide your email address and your response to the Promotion prompt

b) Tweet (public message) about this promotion; including exactly the following unique term in your tweet message: "#SweepstakesEntry"; and then visit this link to provide your email address and the URL to that Tweet.

c) Blog about this promotion, including a disclosure that you are receiving a sweepstakes entry in exchange for writing the blog post, and then visit this link to provide your email address and the URL to that post.

This giveaway is open to US Residents age 18 or older. Winners will be selected via random draw, and will be notified by e-mail. Winners will have 72 hours to claim the prize, or an alternative winner will be selected.

The Official Rules are available here.

This sweepstakes runs from 9/4/2012 - 9/30/2012

Be sure to visit Dove®Hair.com to get a coupon for $1.50 off Dove Hair Therapy products.

Tuesday, August 28, 2012

$100 Shopbop Giveaway!

It's been a while since we hosted a giveaway, so we were pretty pleased when Shopbop asked us if we'd like to give one of our readers a $100 gift card to spend at Shopbop.com!

They have an amazing selection of brands and styles, including Rich and Skinny denimDiane von Furstenberg boots, and Tess Giberson sweaters. Not sure where to start? I'd suggest checking out the Shopbop Pinterest page for inspiration.



TO ENTER:  Please leave a comment on this page telling us what you'd buy if you won. (And your email address so we can contact you if you win.) One entry only, please. This contest is open to readers worldwide. The contest will end at 11pm EST on Thursday, September 6th.The winner will be announced on Friday, September 7th, 2012. Good luck!

Wednesday, March 7, 2012

Miz Mooz Winner!

After pulling out extra comments and incorrect entries, we had a total of 165 entries. Using Random.org the winning number is....




DagnyCongratulations! You've won our Miz Mooz giveaway. We'll sent you an email with instructions. 

Thanks to everyone who entered! 

Monday, March 5, 2012

Marianne: Styling jeans.


 

This series is brought to you by Levi’s® Curve ID. Find your custom fit at Levi’s® stores or Levi.com

In my formative years, I hated jeans. I'll just let you process that for a moment...me, the girl who has never had a job where she couldn't wear jeans, who has an entire drawer devoted to them that is always filled to overflowing, hated jeans. Why? Because as a gawky teenager with long, unruly limbs, I could never, ever find jeans that were long enough. 


Oh, how I envied men with their waist and inseam options! But alas, I was doomed to wear jeans that were too short, or too big, with the droopy crotch landing somewhere around my knees. So hot.

Now I wear jeans at least three times a week. Okay, four. Sometimes 5. I've been pretty devoted to skinny jeans/denim leggings for a while, either with flats (as seen above), or tucked into boots, like below.  I'm pretty curvy and prefer to style skinny jeans with long layers to create the most flattering line possible.


But while I've been on the skinny jean train for a while, I'll always love the look of straight leg jeans with heels. Sure, I'm tall and have long legs, but you can always look taller and longer, right? I prefer a very dark wash with straight leg jeans and wear them weekly to work...


 ...or on the rare occasion that I go out at night. The dark wash is super flattering and feels a bit fancy.


Lastly, in the past year I've tried to stretch my sartorial wheelhouse to include these lighter wash, mega flared jeans. They are a challenge for me to wear, and I've found I like them best worn simply with a fitted, bright colored top and some chunky, 70's style clogs.

  

So, those are just some of the many, many ways I love to wear jeans. How about you?




“I was selected for this sponsorship by the Clever Girls Collective, which endorses Blog With Integrity, as I do.

Adrien: Styling Jeans


This series is brought to you by Levi’s® Curve ID. Find your custom fit at Levi’s® stores or Levi.com

I am a freak for jeans, which is funny because I was known in college for being the girl who Never Wore Pants. Like, never ever. Now, I feel like I can never have enough pairs of jeans but it's hard to justify having a million pairs when I can't wear them to work. (Er, technically.) Even so, I still think the bare minimum jean wardrobe should consist of:


- dark-wash straight leg or boot cut for heels
- whatever wash straight leg or boot cut for flats
- skinny/legging jeans in dark blue and/or black
- nice trouser style jeans


That is the absolute minimum, people! Jeans are important. Now, I like wearing denim on the weekends, absolutely, and I usually style them all super casual:



This is pretty much how I wear them in warm months. I like a cuff! What can I say. Plus, if you are lazy and haven't gotten your jeans hemmed yet, a cuff will hide that.  In the winter I wear my Levi’s® legging jeans with boots, a trend I never get tired of ever. It's not particularly unique right now but what a great way to show off tall boots, right? 





But, my absolute favorite way to style jeans is all stealth-like. By this I mean I like to make denim work for my (no-jeans) office and for events where you'd normally dress up.  This works best with denim that's a dark, uniform color and if they're trouser-style, even better. Here is how I've styled jeans for the office: 




Trouser jeans are the best! They are almost work pants! Sort of!  I've also worn my black skinnys with boots and added a blazer to dress it up and deflect notice from the fact that I am, in fact, wearing skinny jeans to work:



And now, my pièce de résistance. (Does that sound dramatic? Heh.)  Back in December I wore skinny black jeans to a fancy birthday party and nobody even noticed. It wasn't my original plan, but I didn't have a skirt that worked with the sequined top and I don't do "dress pants" because they make me want to die. And it was cold out, so I wanted to be warm.  So, instead of the usual suspects, I wore JEANS. This is the outfit (recreated just for you guys! And yes, I was standing in my front yard at 8am wearing sequins because that's how I do):


Black skinny jeans, a sequined top, high heels and lots of red lipstick. Winning combination! I added my tuxedo style jacket so I didn't freeze:



So now it's your turn. What is your favorite way to style jeans? Do tell.

“I was selected for this sponsorship by the Clever Girls Collective, which endorses Blog With Integrity, as I do.

Thursday, March 1, 2012

Anjolee Necklace Review


I don't have much in the way of classic, grown-up jewelry so when Anjolee, an online jeweler specializing in diamond pendants, asked me to review one of their necklaces I jumped at the chance. They carry a ridiculously nice line of necklaces and I've always wanted a diamond pendant...or a riviera diamond necklace (but good luck with that, Adrien.) After playing around with the 360 and customization features on the website, I chose the Inverted Teardrop Diamond Pendant (mine was set with CZs) in white gold.

It arrived quickly and the first thing I noticed was how nice the packaging is. Inside the shipping box was a shiny blue bag which held a white box which held a wooden jewelry box (fancy!) which held my sweet little necklace. It's super tiny and super sparkly and I think it'll be great for summer when it's too hot to wear a heavy necklace:


So pretty, right? 



I was a little worried that the inverted teardrop would read as heart-shaped, but it's so delicate and sparkly that I don't think it matters.